top of page

Another rs-97 body shell mod keep them coming.

Mike forum member of retrogamers97090 has made a custom mod to his shell below.


After it took me a while to actually go out and get me some spray cans, I finally made it.

Some things I encountered:

- using primer is good, but make sure you don´t get a clear one. I didn´t see where I had sprayed and got some runs of primer. Wiping away showed that the black rim parts are a different material that got affected by the primer.

- Getting some nice even coating, I sprayed about 3-4 times. In return, I had paint build up in the button holes and on the buttons. So the buttons got stuck and I had to sand down the holes (works perfectly now again).

- Overall, tolerances and fitting of the parts are very tight. If you try painting your unit, I would advise to tape all areas where you don´t want to have paint. Assembling the rim parts was a pita. I also had to sand down the outside of the battery lid.

Other than that, I think the result was worth the effort, althoug I have seen a unit on the dingoonity forums that was painted from the inside which I really liked. Already thinking about getting a 2nd unit.

So here are the results.



I have later also added the original label again, so the last picture was taken before doing that.

The label is plasticky on the surface, but underneath it´s paper. No big deal, but hard to peel off in one piece.

1,521 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page