top of page

New PyMenu Alpha 2 release.

Updated: Jul 12, 2018

Dingoonity user jack83 has released a alpha version of his pymenu download below.




Hello everyone!

I was not so satisfied with the usability of gmenu2x and the existing dmenu, so I started a new menu from scratch written in python3. I chose python because I don't know C/C++ that well and I'm able to test on the PC without changing much. In the current state, its not much more than a collection of modules that will be a menu some day I got - a main selection screen - file selection - options popup menu - general configuration menu with inputs for text, boolean, files, folders and images

There is a lot missing, but I'm working on it. While I'm capable to program the menu, I'm very bad at designing stuff. I tried to replicate the main menu of emulation station, but from there it gets ugly

If someone is interested in making a completely new design, please leave a comment


Update 10.07.2018

Gmenu next is progressing rapidly and I can not keep up, but from time to time I'm still working on PyMenu

Here is ALPHA2 of PyMenu

New in this release:

- Resume after launching a game/rom - fixed folder bug - added new layout options - swapped left/right on main menu - added descriptions for native apps

Limitations: - Suspend can be configured but is not working yet - USB mounting is probably broken - Links in the ports section are broken if they need a selection browser. Used for Doom etc. to select a wad file.

Installation RS97:

1. You need the custom firmware for your device. Follow the guides listed here: https://jutleys.wixsite.com/retrogamers97-90 , I recomend the external version

2. Extract the zip next to the gmenu2x folder. (Can only be accessed by using a card reader. Gmenu2x has its own partition). Folder has to be named "PyMenu"

3. run PyMenu/python/install.dge to install python

4. PyMenu can be run by starting PyMenu/run.sh

5. If you want to make it your default launcher, run PyMenu/installer/install.dge. This can currently only be undone by reflashing the cfw (or replacing the "main" script with the backup if you know what you are doing)

Tested on cfw 2.1_Final

2,167 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page